What types of SSD do different series of MacBook Air has?

What types of SSD do different series of MacBook Air has?

SSD (solid state drive) is a new generation of storage devices used in computers. It is better than HDD, because the speed of data transmission is higher and operations are perfectly. It works like a flesh-card. Also SSD is better, because it has not moving elements. It helps the device work faster. Minimal free space of SSD is 128 GB.

Usually, when you buy an Apple device, you can read only about free space of SSD. But sometimes you need to know not only free space, but also the type of connection, the company that made it and others. This article is about SSD which is the part of the MacBook Air.

MacBook Air made in 2010 or 2011

Apple’s SSDs were manufactured by Samsung and Toshiba. But Apple found out that Samsung drivers were faster. But they did not tell users about the company that made SSD, so customers were subject to an SSD lottery.

Users complained about it and Apple understand its mistake. Later generation of SSDs never again saw such a large distinction between the drivers of different manufacture. In the middle of 2011 MacBook Air has Samsung 860 EVO SSD. It has a special adapter to connect. Maximum free space of SSD was 6 GB.

MacBook Air made in 2012 and 2013

They continue using of SSDs of Samsung and Toshiba, but free space become bigger. Minimal free space is 128 GB. They known as Generation 2B. The 2B read and write speeds are faster than first generation of SSD. It use SATA with a M.2 connector.

SSD for MacBook Air

MacBook Air made from 2013 to 2015

It was clear to Apple that with the Generation 2 drives that mSATA’s 600 MB/s limitation would not allow for further speed increases, so Apple’s next generation of SSD began using a PCle 2.0×2 interface, bringing the most substantial performance increases to date. The speed of working became higher. Drivers became compatible with all Apple computers.

SSD was made by:

  • Samsung — маркировка 0A2.
  • SanDisk — 0А4.
  • Toshiba — 0А6.

The free space was 1 TB.

Samsung SSD for Macbook Air 2014-2015 655-1857B MZ-JPV128R / 0A2
Photo: Samsung SSD for Macbook Air 2014−2015 655−1857B MZ-JPV128R / 0A2

MacBook Air made from 2015 to 2017

The fourth generation of SSDs have 12−16 connector. The interface become better, now it is PCle 3.0×4. It helps make speed higher. The SSDs were manufactured by Samsung. But 11 inch MacBook Air has SSD made by Toshiba.

MacBook Air made in 2017 and late

The fifth generation of SSDs have 22−34 connector. Apple starts using SSDs by Toshiba again. Another innovations:

  1. Support the NVMe protocol.
  2. Read and write speeds is about 2500 MB/s.
  3. SSD has an extra controller, because of that productivity became higher.

It does not matter, which SSD do your MacBook Air have. You always can buy the fastest and the newest driver. If you need another connector — just buy it. They will help you to use SSD that you want with your laptop.

Advisor to appleiwatch.name, co-author of articles. Has been working with Apple products for over 10 years.

Like this post? Please share to your friends:
Comments: 3
  1. Alex (author)

    Hi.
    We present to you our article «What types of SSD do different series of MacBook Air has? Its differences and specs.».
    We are waiting for your questions, suggestions and feedback on the topic.

  2. Adham

    The iPhone smartwatch is the most advanced and advanced technology available today. The smartwatch is distinguished by its convenience and high quality design. You can save your time with this smart watch. Because a smart watch makes many functions on your phone even easier. The price of smart watches is also affordable. I recommend you. Take advantage of the convenience of smart watches.

  3. Garry

    The article is interesting and informative. I had a problem with SDD on my MacBook Air the other day. After reading this publication, with a specific description by year of release, I figured it out.Thanks.

Leave a Reply

;-) :| :x :twisted: :smile: :shock: :sad: :roll: :razz: :oops: :o :mrgreen: :lol: :idea: :grin: :evil: :cry: :cool: :arrow: :???: :?: :!:

Какие SSD стоят в MacBook Air разных годов выпуска и их технические характеристики?

SSD в MacBook Air

SSD (solid state drive) – это накопитель информации для компьютеров. Отличается от HDD высокой скоростью передачи данных, обработкой информации. Принцип работы накопителя очень похож на работу флешки. Плюс SSD-диска состоит в том, что у него нет движущихся элементов, что повышает время его использования. Минимальная емкость накопителя для компьютеров 128 ГБ.

В основном при покупке устройств Apple в магазинах можно увидеть только объем SSD-диска. Но в некоторых случаях важно знать не только его емкость, но и способы подключения накопителя к ПК, производителя и некоторые другие параметры. В статье мы постарались разобраться в том, какие SSD-накопители установлены в MacBook Air.

MacBook Air 2010-2011 годов выпуска

Для этой модели использовались SSD-диски от компаний Samsung и Toshiba. Но Apple выяснили, что накопители Samsung работали в несколько раз быстрее. Но в спецификации производитель не указывается, поэтому покупатели не имели возможности выбрать Mac по названию компаний, которые выпускают комплектующие.

Фирма, отталкиваясь от жалоб пользователей, больше не делала разделение между производителями на одной модели. Поэтому к середине 2011 года стали выпускать MacBook Air с SSD — Samsung 860 EVO. При этом использовался специальный переходник для разъемов. Объем диска доходил до 6 Гб.

MacBook Air 2012-2013 годов выпуска

Продолжают использовать SSD от Samsung и Toshiba, но с большим объемом (от 128 Гб), при этом используется маркировка 2В – второе поколение. Эти диски имеют большую скорость чтения и передачи данных, чем у первого поколения накопителей. Используется шлейф SATA с разъемом M.2.

SSD для MacBook Air

MacBook Air 2013–2015 годов выпуска

Компания замечает, что стандарт mSATA и SATA не дают ускорить обмен информацией выше, чем 600 МБ/с. Поэтому появилось 3 поколение SSD-накопителей с интерфейсом PCIe 2.0×2. Это значительно увеличило скорость работы накопителя. Диски стали совместимы с любой моделью ноутбуков от Apple. Производители:

  • Samsung – маркировка 0A2.
  • SanDisk – 0А4.
  • Toshiba – 0А6.

Емкость дисков увеличилась до 1 Тб.

Samsung SSD для Macbook Air 2014-2015 655-1857B MZ-JPV128R/0A2
Фото: Samsung SSD для Macbook Air 2014-2015 655-1857B MZ-JPV128R/0A2

MacBook Air 2015–2017 годов выпуска

4 поколение SSD-накопителей теперь имеет 12-16-контактный разъем, улучшается интерфейс — PCIe 3.0×4, за счет чего повышается производительность диска. Компания производитель — Samsung. Но есть MacBook Air 11 дюймов, где SSD выпускает Toshiba.

MacBook Air 2017 и выше годов выпуска

5 поколение SSD накопителей теперь имеет 22-34-контактный разъем. Снова Apple воспользовалась дисками от Toshiba. Другие изменения:

  1. Поддерживает протокол (стандарт для подключения диска к шине) – NVMe.
  2. Повышена скорость чтения и записи до 2500 МБ/с.
  3. На SSD появился дополнительный контроллер, который увеличил производительность накопителя.

Какой бы SSD не находился в вашем MacBook Air, его можно легко заменить на более быстрый и новый. Если используется другой стандарт и количество контактов в разъеме не соответствует, есть специальные проводники. Они помогут интегрировать накопитель в ноутбук.

Консультант сайта appleiwatch.name, соавтор статей. Работает с продукцией Apple более 10 лет.

Понравилась статья? Поделиться с друзьями:
Комментарии: 2
  1. kira

    Здравствуйте. Представляем вам нашу статью «Какие SSD стоят в MacBook Air разных годов выпуска и их технические характеристики?». Ждем ваших вопросов, предложений и отзывов по теме.

  2. Екатерина

    У меня макбук air 3-го поколения годов 2013-2015. В принципе памяти хватает, но иногда подвисает, видимо стареет потихоньку. Планирую брать самую новую модель и буду ссылаться на вашу статью. Никогда не задумывалась какие SSD стоят у меня в компьютер, что вообще это такое и для чего они нужны, но сейчас начинаю понемногу разбираться в этом. Надеюсь, что не ошибусь с выбором и с характеристиками новой модели. Apple с каждым годом совершенствует свой продукт и это действительно радует.

Добавить комментарий

;-) :| :x :twisted: :smile: :shock: :sad: :roll: :razz: :oops: :o :mrgreen: :lol: :idea: :grin: :evil: :cry: :cool: :arrow: :???: :?: :!:
Нажимая на кнопку "Отправить комментарий", я даю согласие на обработку персональных данных и принимаю политику конфиденциальности.